Blog Hop: The Writing Process

Blog Hop: The Writing Process

I’ve been blog-tagged by JANET ALLISON BROWN, who found me on Twitter, and I’m jolly glad she did. Go quick, follow that link and read the opening chapter to The Walker’s Daughter now! You won’t be sorry I yelled at you to do that.

Here, then, are my answers to the four questions:

What am I working on?

I’m currently working on two completely different series (series-es?! *shrug*) one for Harlequin, and one for myself. They’re both in exactly the same phases, ie: book one is published and ‘out there,’ book two is edited and awaiting the green light, book three is planned and begun. For the purposes of this blog, I’m going to concentrate on the self-published series, The Lynher Mill Chronicles. It’s a mythic fiction series set in Cornwall, the first of which is The Dust of Ancients, and the second is The Lightning and the Blade (scheduled for release June 2014) The third, The Western War, will be out (I hope) in June next year.

 

How does my work differ from other works in the same genre?

It’s an odd kind of genre for starters. It’s not fantasy – exactly. It’s not urban fantasy either. It’s not properly historical, and not wholly contemporary. It’s a melding of all those things, and whereas most fantasy/urban fantasy tends towards the vampiric, or were-things, this takes ancient Cornish folklore and twists it all together with a modern tale of betrayal, addiction and revenge. The villagers who live in Lynher Mill (based on the old mining village of Minions) have no clue they’re not alone up there on the moor, but they’re about to find out …

 

Why do I write what I write?

Because I want to read it, simply put! It pulls together everything that fascinates me, and throws a deeply troubled man into a situation where he has to make some unthinkable choices. I wrote the first one because, growing up in the area where it’s set, I would walk for hours and hours, wondering what had happened on the ground on which I stood; unspoilt to the naked eye, but more than likely the scene of something hideous in the thousands of years before. I wanted to bring that possibility into the modern day, examine it, and think about what would happen if those days met these, and the kind of clash that might then occur.

 

How does my writing process work?

I’m a bit of a combination of obsessive plotter and happy pantser. I’ll start with a vague idea, then flesh it out a bit – my working notes documents for a full-length novel often run to around 50,000 words by themselves, by the time the novel is written, as I add to them constantly throughout the process. Then once I’ve got the basics straight in my head I’ll sit down and write, and see where it takes me. Now and again I’ll write myself into a bit of a corner, then I get playing Bejeweled and talk myself through it! When a plot hiccup occurred in the first draft of The Dust of Ancients I wrote two short stories using the problem as a basis for both, to see which made more sense – both have since been published in paperback anthologies, and neither was the solution to the problem, but writing them freed up whatever blockage was causing me to over-think things. I work full-time, so my “writing” quite often takes place in my head, until I can get near somewhere to put it down!

 

Linking Forwards: These people are super-spiffy, and I like them a lot. One of them might have a blog post up next week, but I can’t promise anything … I might come back and edit this list later but I needed to get this post up today!

🙂

Celia Joy Anderson – co-winner of the Piatkus Entice prize in 2012. Writer of delicious fiction. Literally.

Diana Morrison – an old friend, brought back in touch via Facebook, and one to watch with the writing!

 

Leave a Reply

